Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

How Many Layers?

Went out on this grey and chilly Monday morning hunting for cabbage plants - came back with Brussel Sprouts and Purple Sprouting but Mr. HCB was happy, so job done.

Whilst at Midge Hall Nurseries, we had a wander round and everything looked pretty old and rather unkempt. We saw a lady of about 50 quietly working away and asked who owned the site - she said it was owned by a farmer, and had once been a dairy farm, but was now all arable. There were a number of very large glass houses, but most of them were empty and the others only had a few plants, so I blipped some of the colourful Marigolds.

However, on our way out, I saw this wonderful old oil tank - and it just shouted at me to be blipped. I must say I got rather a strange look from the only other customer but of course, Mr. HCB knew instantly what I was doing!

I wonder how many people have painted this oil tank over the years, and just put layer upon layer of paint without sanding down the original? You can see by the rest of the "stuff" that the site is a little run down, but it obviously still does some trade.

Made me think how much we put on layer upon layer of masks so that others won't see us as we truly are. We hide behind our masks and we push feelings and anxieties down so that no-one knows who we are - in fact, most of the time, WE don't know who we are.

Sometimes we wear masks because we don't want to be hurt, or because we want people to think well of us - fearing that if we show our true selves, we will not be liked - I know, because I have been there. Since I have become "more mature" I have worried less about what people think and am beginning to learn that I can take off my mask and be the person I am and if others don't like that, it is their problem and not mine.

However, one thing I am certain of, God loves me (and you) completely and utterly with or without my mask.

"Love takes off masks that we fear we cannot live without
and know we cannot live within."
James Arthur Baldwin
(American Essayist, Playwright and Novelist, 1924-1987)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.