spannarama

By spannarama

Somerset sunset

I woke up hoping to find my Mum feeling better - but found her feeling really sick, and very muddled.  I then very unhelpfully felt very faint all of a sudden, so gave my sister a call and she came over to help out.  She called the doctors, and they agreed to come out later on.  Mum's carer, Lowenna, also turned up, and was super helpful - and surprisingly managed to persuade Mum to eat some porridge, which actually went down very well.

I called in sick for the morning, not feeling great after my almost-fainting episode.  My sister hung around for a while, until we knew what was happening with the docs (they said they'd come at lunchtime) - then headed home to work for a bit.  She came back when the doctor came, bless her - and then discovered the doc was actually one of her daughter's best friends' mums.  Wells is a very small place!

Dr checked Mum over, and again said she couldn't find anything obvious - but was sure it wasn't a stroke.  We're sure it's a water infection - for which she already started on antibiotics yesterday - as those can cause befuddlement.  (When I first went in to her this morning, Mum said, "Oh Anna, I can't remember my address" - then spent most of the day trying to remember what the rest of her house looked like.  SO weird.)

I worked in the afternoon, and my sister came back again in the evening.  Mum was quite a bit brighter by then, and managed a full meal for dinner.  Phew.  I was exhausted by bedtime - went to bed not long after 10pm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.