Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

700 Sighs...

I can't help myself - I am totally smitten with all the baby birds that are showing up right now. Here you have the show-stopping Northern Cardinal male (yep, the red one ... that's the show-stopping part) feeding his newly fledged daughter. Birds just amaze me with their parenting - it is so very endearing and just makes me feel all warm and squishy inside. I can't guarantee that you won't get more shots like this - I can't seem to stop myself.

This was taken at full zoom, hand held, from our deck. I was actually watching the wrens feed their big-mouthed kids when I realized that the cardinals were just a few trees away. I didn't even see the baby at first, so well did she blend into the pine. It wasn't until Dad flew over and I heard the telltale peeping that I saw her. A truly special moment.

Oh, in case you are wondering, this is my 700th blip - wow, almost two years!

I posted a couple of other pictures of the cardinals HERE and HERE. And just for fun, I posted a shot of one of the gray catbirds drenching itself in the bird bath last night. I've decided that the catbirds win the award for Most Enthusiastic Bathers. When they get done, there is water everywhere!

I am off to the dreaded dentist shortly. When I went for the routine cleaning last week, they decided that 3 very old fillings need to be replaced. I'm not totally sure, but I think I might rather have brain surgery again than the dentist... well, on second thought, maybe not. Suck it up, Deb.

I'll be around later - if I live through the dentist... Just sayin'.

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.