Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

River Trent at Shugborough

I'd originally planned a walk with a friend on Friday, but he had to cry off due to an emergency and so I was left to my own devices.  When I saw the forecast for today I postponed for 24 hours to take advantage of the stunning conditions promised.

It didn't disappoint, so I caught the train to Rugeley then started out to walk across the Chase to where L was riding.  The walk started along the Trent and Mersey Canal towpath where for some time it follows the course of the River Trent.  There was still plenty of autumn colour to be had, with the oak trees stubbornly clinging on to their leaves.  

Further on in the walk I walked down avenues of beech trees that had provided photo opportunities just a couple of weeks ago but they are now devoid of leaves, though the carpet beneath is still colourful.  Finally reached the livery yard after almost 11 miles, did some chores, and got a bit of love of L's old ride, Meg (though you have to wonder if she would follow you around so much if you didn't have treats in my pocket!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.