LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Lighting Up

What a nasty, gloomy, wintry day it has been here today- definitely a day to stay indoors if possible. 
I have little to report except my morning with the Merry Widows, a visit to my neighbours after lunch, one of whom having just had a tonsillectomy was drinking iced water through a straw and later a visit from daughter #3 returning a case I loaned her for her visit to Sharjah. 

I felt I had to tell the tonsillectomy patient that in bygone days they regularly took out children’s tonsils on the kitchen table. It seemed to be the fashion at the time. I escaped that fate and still have my tonsils but my brother had his removed in hospital, coming out to the ringing of church bells which I innocently thought at the age of 6 was to welcome him home but was in fact to celebrate the end of WW2.

As #3 daughter departed I took this blip of a rainy Lister Square  with the lights of Söderberg and the fairy lights on the newly planted trees adding some cheer to the scene. There is to be no Christmas Tree for Quartermile this year- we are much reduced in the spirit of Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.