PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Finally time

So it is finally time to find out who has won the Booker Prize 2023. Just a few thoughts. I know not many people are interested, but my journal is a record of what is important to me and this is important to me - as has been said - it is like the World Cup of Fiction. And I prefer books to flowers - I am strange like that.

I have been on quite a journey with these books and it started way back in the summer with the longlist announcement. I have loved acquiring the books and reading them and discussing them online with other readers on the same journey. And the end is nigh. I have no idea which one of these will win. This group of judges have some strange ideas and they could go any way. 

The favourites are Prophet Song and The Bee Sting - it is likely that it will be one of these. Of course I would give the prize to a book not on the list, but if I had to choose I would go for Study for Obedience - a very strange, almost absurd, book, but one I would read again and still think about. The three at the top are the ones I enjoyed the most. I cannot comment on If I Survive You as I didn’t get very far into it before knowing I was not going to like it. Funny thing is that the one of the six last year that I couldn’t read . . . won!! I still haven’t read it. 

Gordon has gone to the cinema to see Napoleon - I didn’t fancy it at all although it has had excellent reviews. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.