talloplanic views

By Arell

Strike while the soldering iron's hot

I had a productive morning in the garden substantially pruning the most prickly bush, but then ran out of energy and/or enthusiasm and reverted to my sofa to look at maps, both new for Holiday Plotting and old, for @Bikerbabe's railway turntable. 

After a bit of lunch I felt better and hid myself in the garage.  I started making a handy dandy extension cable for my motorbike's battery charger, so that I can still charge if the bike is parked on the driveway, especially if it's raining…but then I had better ideas.

I've wanted to do a repair on the charger for ages, because the insulation on the cable to the charging plug had split right where it came out of the unit.  The wire strands were alarmingly close to each other and I was afraid they'd short out one day and go BANG.  I'd effected a temporary strain relief months ago with tape and thin bits of plastic, and it worked after a fashion but the entire cable was so stiff it annoyed me all the time.  So I went right back to the PCB, replaced the output wires with better stuff, and added a nice modern connector on the case (the yellow part in the pic).  Quite honestly, the unit ought to have had something like that when they designed it, but it was my brother's hand-me-down and is more than 15 years old, so I expect Optimate hadn't thought of it.  Then I made the extension cable to suit, although it took three attempts because by then my brain was cold and stupid.  It came good in the end though.

So now I can leave the charger plugged in in the garage, and run the longer wire out to the bike when I need to.  Of course, now I need (well, "need") to make a shorter charging cable for more convenient in-garage purposes.  A gal can't have too many projects, you know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.