Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

The Bird of the Year …..

….. ….. ….. the Australasian Crested Grebe.
This has to be one of the most stylish elegant birds. Did I vote for it? Certainly yes. It’s one of my favourites.

I walked around Lake Hayes today with an Australian couple who are staying with my friend & neighbour over the road from me. We took our time, enjoying the ever-changing scenery plus the birdlife. We actually saw about 10 crested grebes, plus tuis, grey warblers, Canada geese, Paradise shelducks & scaups.
I’d hoped that there would be reflections for L&R, but the surface was ruffled initially until the annoying little breeze dropped when we were about halfway around and the reflections appeared. There’s a photo I really like in Extras.

My daughter had a nasty accident yesterday, riding home after the gospel music presentation. A dog ran out in front of her bike and she pitched forward over the handlebars. Ouch! She’s now sporting a cast but doesn’t know how long it’ll be on for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.