SomethingAwful

By SomethingAwful

Koala / Waltzing Matilda

This is a rubbish picture but it's of something that means a lot to me. I just happened to notice this little fella as I was walking past a charity shop in Kenilworth - I used to have a really similar koala bear when I was little, who had a key (just like this one) in his belly, and when you turned it a little music box version of Waltzing Matilda played. In fact, I still do have him, but the seams broke and his stuffing has come out!

Went back to Leamington after sitting on a bench on a lovely green hill watching familied (especially fathers!) go by in the warm weather (didn't rain on them thankfully), and people walking their dogs, and tried to read some more about being more Zen. Then spoke to Thom, who said to come to the Leamington Peace Festival!

I'd never heard of it but he said it was just the sort of hippy crap I was into, so we went along, looked around all the stalls, spoke to Justice for Palestinians, heard some musicians and a really cool and funny poet called Rob Barratt, AND got a burrito and sheeps' milk ice cream! Yum.

Headed home and then went out to a pub quiz at the Duke with Jack and some of his housemates from first year - we did really well, but then the wipeout round came and, well, wiped us out. Such is life! Watched Family Guy with Thom to round the evening off. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.