I Witness

By KangaZu

Mono Monday: Week 514 ...

... Low key Architecture.

I really didn't want to go out today specifically to get an architecture picture.  So when I mentioned the MM theme to Richard and he suggested going to Housenick Memorial park at lunchtime I was quite agreeable to that.  

On the grounds of the park is the old Housenick Mansion.   The house was built in 1923 by Bethlehem's first mayor ... Archibald Johnston.  It consists of 22 rooms and was a show piece at the time.   After Mr. Johnston's death in 1948 one of his granddaughters owned the property.  And upon her death in 2005 she gifted the house and 55 acres to Bethlehem Township.  They own the house and grounds and have been slowly restoring the house and have added improvements to the park. 

My picture was taken as I peered into the window as the house isn't open to the public.  Sorry to say but some of the architectural details are lost by converting to low key mono.  Thanks to Carolina for hosting Mono Monday all this month.  I have blipped the exterior of this lovely house once before as an extra. 

Housenick is one of our favorite places to walk as we see a lot of wildlife here.  In fact, on our walk today we saw the beautiful Eastern bluebird seen in Extras.  I was surprised by how close she allowed me to get as I slowly crept toward her.  I only had the 200mm lens on at the time so I was pretty happy when she stayed put.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.