StephenF

By StephenF

Far from Saints

I've been interviewing in London today but was home in time to go to the GLive venue in Guildford with my daughter to see Far from Saints, a kind of side project of Kelly Jones from the Stereophonics. He fronts the band with an excellent Anerican singer, Patricia Lynn. I think they are viewed as part of the Americana genre. To me they are just a very good band, with an enticing mix of Welsh balladry and country rock. I saw them play the Avalon stage at Glastonbury earlier this year but the tent was packed and I was at the fringe of the crowd, so it was good not only to have a decent view this evening but also to hear them properly. Kelly Jones thanked Jo Whiley for playing them a lot when their first recordings came out and, indeed, that's how we first heard them - so well done Kelly Jones for publicly recognising that and well done Jo Whiley for knowing a good thing when she hears it. A little red dragon was sat on one of the speakers, which continued a bit of a Welsh theme today as one of our candidates was Welsh and applying for a position in Cardiff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.