dreaming

By dreaming

I survived

Today was an up-and-down day.  I heard back from the hand surgeon's office and he will be able to give me a steroid injection for the carpal tunnel pain when I see him on December 7.  With any luck that will help me until I can have my surgery.

Then the cleaners didn't show up and when I called to find out why, it turned out that they got a flat tire, but didn't notify me or even their office.  They said the cleaners could come tomorrow between 10:30 and 11 AM and I agreed to that  Then I remembered that I had to move my car out of the garage by 8 AM and I'm going to go to Lex's house until I have to go to dialysis.  That means my apartment would be unlocked for nine hours and I realized I'm not comfortable with that.  So I've just called to cancel.  I hope we can reschedule for later in the week.

Then I went up to Lex's house to see her and say bon voyage as she and Doug head off to Hawaii tomorrow morning.  There I took this photo of a yellow-leaved tree in her back garden that has lost most of its leaves and looks forlorn.

When I got home, the phone was ringing as I was unlocking the door.  It turned out to be Clare (Tookie) and we had a lovely long conversation.  It's so nice when someone you like a lot also likes you.

Everything was okay here until suddenly all my power went out.  Stumbling around in the dark, I finally found my walker and used my phone as a flashlight to investigate the circuit breaker box.  I couldn't tell which breaker was wrong and although I tried every one, nothing worked.  So I had to hunt up the battery-operated little electric torches, put in new batteries, and then I went back to the breakers.  I kept flipping them until suddenly the lights in the kitchen and bathroom came on.  Eventually I managed to get all the breakers facing the right way.

What a day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.