That Will Do!

By flumgummery

Star Of Wonder

My 'little project' is coming to fruition but a missing element was the star - because we can't have a Christmas tree without a star, can we?

I did purchase a very swish star, so gorgeous was it, with its stem and hole for sewing on, that it was too heavy and flopped forward once attached - and we can't have a floppy star, can we?

Before I despaired and delayed the finish by trawling round likely (or even un-likely) sources of an alternative, I whiled away an evening fiddling with pliers and jeweller's wire to make a star shape. By no means perfect I repeated the exercise with a little more accuracy, however, this had not the desired impact - I mean, it's got to be visible against all those buttonholes and numbers.

So I whiled away a few more hours, then a few hours more, winding said jeweller's wire with beading wire, which is a much finer gauge yet gives a bulkier impression without much weight. 

I submit the finished result for Tiny Tuesday, thanking osuzanna for hosting as, although at 2.5cms it is large for many 'tiny' entries, the wire loops are very tiny and, to be honest, I never want to do it again. Perfection being no longer an option, the star has been duly attached.

 I already have an arrangement that the 'project' may be returned for improvement once Christmas is over and I have more time for niceties, probably sometime deep into 2024.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.