LesleyAlsford

By LesleyAlsford

Orca Whale

today we sailed into Paradise Harbour. It was a stunning sight with the ship surrounded by ice in the water, large icebergs and mountains all around. We had a landing at the Argentian station 'Brown' nearby and also a cruise in the area. What made my day though was seeing a pod of Orca (Killer) whales right by the ship.On the ship we are divided up into various animal groups for the small boats and we happen to be in the 'Orca' group.  Luckily I was on deck at the time but I struggled at times to keep them in the frame at 100mm . I never thought I would need a wider angle for a whale! 
Apologies for lack of comments but the internet here is very slow. I've also tried many times to add extra shots, as narrowing down to one for the day is so difficult, but I seem to be able to only use the 'basic editor' which only allows one. Maybe I'll try to add more when I'm back on land .
PS have added a couple more to show the icebergs , bergybits (the official term for smaller icebergs) and brash ice as we sailed into Paradise Harbour in the evening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.