Marionb

By Marionb

A Gift Horse..

It was a very full and memorable day at my daughter's house that started with a Christmas shopping trip to our favourite consignment store in London (Ontario, that is...I am sure I would have many favourite ones in London England!.) 

The first item to catch my eye was this horse - a rocking horse? Really? Different, but what a fabulous Christmas gift it would make for a fun-loving grandchild - if only I had one...but I don't...But then, maybe it could be a unique gift for a friend? I can imagine it as a "conversation piece" ..a  fun focal point in any room - but then, would someone else see it that way? 

I know that one should never look a gift horse in the mouth,  but I did resist buying it..not that I didn't like it, but because I couldn't think of anyone to give it to... and remain friends with!  BUT, I did find a perfect addition to my mom's china set - my favourite set - as well as a piece of my sister's pattern too..( a bonus gift for her!). So a tiny bit of Christmas was done.. 

Then it was off to visit Tim, the husband of my long-time close friend Michole who died two years ago now...I really miss them both and try to see him whenever I am at my daughter's. I would provide a photo but I forgot to ask permission to post! 

Then..oh the fun - and oh the bitterly cold wind - foraging for greenery and bits of anything red to take home to fill my outdoor Christmas urns and make some more swags. It is the perfect place to do that - what with acres of fields and woods...and a chauffeur-driven golf cart! (extra)

And finally...a visit to  my daughter's friend Lisa who has just acquired two new barn cats! Adorable...and when I say "barn", that could be misleading. Yes, they live in the barn, and yes, their job is to keep the place free of rodents, but their living quarters are in a special section of the barn that has been made into a workshop and man-cave for Lisa's husband..complete with wood stove  and comfy arm chairs! A very upscale accommodation for barn cats..who also have their own little house in there with a heated (!) floor for cozy sleeping in the cold of winter!  While there, we had to also do the "hugging Stanley" thing;  Stanley is getting old now and more than ever, he loves those hugs.(extra) 

What a great day - I am amazed at how much we crammed into a very cold and bitter day weather-wise...none of it above zero - and still managed to enjoy some of it outdoors! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.