HeidiHH

By HeidiHH

Diamond

painting that I finished yesterday. It's 30cm x 40cm so it was quite a huge job. I've started the next one already. It's harder as the numbers are printed in a circle which is in a square, so there's more little lines to make it harder to see.

And talking about seeing / vision. I picked up my new contact lenses today. The optician had this very clever idea called monovision that could work for me. So last we he had the trial set for me to test. And as it worked, I ordered a bunch.

 I'm myopic and my other eye has astigmatism and my eyes have different level of myopia and I've also started to have some age related problems to see close. If I wanna see close, I take off my specs. If I try reading glasses, I can't see a thing. If I use my minus lenses, I can't see close. So usually I just take off my glasses if I need to read something that is close.



That means that I can't really use contacts as I can't take them off to read something that is close.



So the monovision. As my eyes are so very different my brain has learnt to make sense of the different type of eyes that I have. The contacts are so that one will let me see close, and the other will let me see far and the other also has the repair for the astigmatism. Usually the lenses move in circular motion in your eye. So when you have astigmatism it might be just skipped and not repaired, so you can't see so good, but most likely good enough. This new lens that I got will stay in the same position in the eye so the astigmatism can be repaired. It's very strange but it works. My brains can make sense of all that scattered information. If you are used to have very similar eyes, you most likely can't make this work for you. Also the contact lens companies will try to sell you pricier options as this one is way cheaper option for the end user.



But anyway. With the new contacts I can see far and close. Amazing. 30 pair cost me 80€, so it's for special situations that I wanted them for. Usually I get by with specs quite well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.