The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Velveteen Lounge

Another fine Minky day; off first thing to Conifox to meet up with R&E and Juliet. Blimey, it was cold; everything frozen. Which of course is most entertaining for a small thing - there is ice to crack on every puddle. 
We then called in at the boat to check things over and she seemed quite at home, even although it was gently rocking away. Down below she found my stash of salted peanuts and helped herself (and me) to a few handfuls, declaring them to be lovely. And she helped me put on a fender sock. Later, as we got back in the car, her tongue was still motoring round in her mouth, feeling her teeth. I don’t like peanuts, she decided.
Much later, we watched Velveteen Rabbit on Apple TV - a book that the SK had read to her daughter when she was young. And when her daughter was young too, haw! I’d never heard of it, I must admit. 
Later, to the Diggers, which was so busy we’d to split into two tables, far apart from each other. Four at one, and five at ours. I bet our chat was better.  For obvious reasons. And no, not because we’d an extra pint in our round. Though it helps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.