The Pensioner

By Pensioner

All Things Tea

A busy and productive day, I seem to recall. First up, to the dump with bags and bags of prunings and clippings and sweeping ups. Then up town to get cracking on this Christmas shopping malarkey. Isn’t it the case though that it’s so much easier to buy things you’d like yourself. Like some nice tea. Well, my caddy was nearly empty. I hope she hasn’t noticed that and has bought me tea. Good tea is one of those things that makes you grateful for everything; a confirmation that you’re living your best possible life. I remember that I first came across good tea as a student; at home we’d some ground up sawdust like stuff and I’d never given it much thought. But here was a grocer's with shelves and shelves of proper tea - teas which sounded exotic, and which came in a tin! Those were the days. When you thought the understanding of the universe and human condition and everything was to be found in some Hermann Hesse novel. Ah, the wonder of it all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.