Cailleach

By Cailleach

A little bit of make up....

Firstly, thank you all so much for joining in with WildWed yesterday - the photos were fantastic and as usual, I completely forgot to post one myself......

Today, I spent hours getting my highlights done by the hairdresser I've been seeing 4 or 5 times a year for the last two decades. Usually, he just witters on about films, music etc, but for reasons unknown he suddenly asked, "How's your dad doing? Is he feeling better?"

Now, I don't know why, but instead of saying "He's been dead for over 20 years, so probably not much hope for improvement..." I mumbled something about him being absolutely fine. He then proceeded to ask if my mother's health had improved, and not wanting to embarrass either of us, I shuffled around in my chair and said "She's not looking so good nowadays" (she popped off over 40 years ago, so I wasn't lying!), to which he replied that I should bring her along to the salon for a new hairdo!

Honestly. What is it about being British/idiotic/mortified, that rather than telling him he'd clearly confused me with someone else, I've now landed myself with not one, but two fictitious parents. And not only that - one of them is on the verge of booking herself in for a makeover!!!


If you're looking for me, I'm on the phone to my brother - unless he's a figment of my imagination too, that is......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.