Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Stonechat #74

Another beautiful day - cold, crisp but beautifully sunny and still. We spent the morning at RSPB Burton Mere, arriving at around 10.30am. The main scrape and some of the pools were completely frozen over so were devoid of birds and wildlife which was a shame, but we still managed to see over 40 different species. They were more difficult to find and in much smaller numbers than usual. This smart stonechat was seen from Bunker hide early in our walk and was my favourite shot of the day. I did have a go at shooting the blue tits that were feeding on the bulrushes, but it was very bright and I'm not sure if I like it. You can see it in extras. 
It was nice to catch up with kwchas on duty as a volunteer in the visitor centre. I'm sure he was glad of the interruption as there were no birds for him to watch so he was probably a bit bored ;) 
We popped over to Denhall Quay afterwards to see if I could get a shot of an owl, but we only had one VERY distant fly-by before sunset and it was way too far away. 
A thoroughly lovely day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.