lrjlo - Suburban Explorer

By lrjlo

Twenty- five years

Today it's my birthday. My sister kindly baked me this lovely cake.

To be honest it hasn't been the best day. I went to the doctor because I've been having bad hayfever with a persistent sore and swollen throat. She deduced that I don'thave tonsillitis (I should hope not, as my tonsils were removed in 2002) and then said there's nothing I can do except keep taking the antihistamines even though they're not working for me. I felt patronised and not listened to and like she was just trying to get me out of there as quickly as possible.

Then I went to my parents house and my mum fell and hit her head which is not good as she's had surgery on a brain tumour and has epilepsy so I basically spent the rest of the morning watching her for signs of concussion or seizures. She was in shock so I was trying to keep her calm but struggling with anxiety myself.

I went to work this afternoon where it was the same old. I'm still waiting for official confirmation from my new employer before I can hand in my notice. Tomorrow and Wednesday I am representing my team of four on my own so that will be hectic.

This evening I was too knackered to do anything much so Nick came over and brought me a Subway round which was nice of him. I've been sleeping badly lately which has messed everything up. I wish I could have posted something more positive to mark 25 years alive but sadly it was not to be. I've got some nice cards and thoughtful presents though and several presents are the promise of a day out or weekend away which is something to look forward to. I find occasions like Christmas and my birthday far more stressful than they should be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.