Train to Bialystok

K very kindly gave me a lift to KK's for breakfast and to pick up my bag. I hope she wasn't late for work. KK fortified me with a cooked breakfast and we both went in our respective directions. I made my way to the railway station, where I bought my tickets without queuing and grabbed a large coffee in Starbucks, a new experience for me. I bought some mints in a rather attractive metal box.

The train standing on the next platform was to Moscow and I had just a short time to wait for mine. I had treated myself to 1st class and my ticket home cost me 77 zloty, that's about £15. I had the cool and pleasant compartment to myself and enjoyed the view. There were corn poppies flowering between the tracks over many stretches and I considered showing you, but I decided not to for reasons we won't go into.

From Bialystok I caught the local stopping train home and was met by D with KG and Pushkin. We returned via the G's cottage where work is apace. The old fireplace has been removed and the garden has been restored to a degree of order. I think they will have power and water quite soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.