Topsyturvy

By Topsyturvy

Reasons to have a dog

... if you need one!

The temperature outside is hovering around 0⁰C, maybe going up to 2⁰ mid afternoon apparently. If I didn't have a Berry to walk I would probably simply snuggle down indoors and admire the frosty scenery through triple glazing. However, the dog obligations meant I had to go outside and it was just beautiful. Plenty of layers of clothing (me, not Berry) and a chance to enjoy Orkney scenery at its sparkling finest. Wonderful. 

A nice big flock of Wigeon on the Bay plus the odd Mallard. The Wigeon were gently whistling away - a sound evocative of serenity and cold like today. 

I had planned to wrap Christmas presents but unfortunately I've discovered that they and the wrapping paper are thoroughly inaccessible. The plumbers have pretty much barricaded one end of the spare bedroom off and I'm not mountaineering to find things. 

So I'm off up to a chilly hidey hole to continue finishing the Christmas mini presents for various people. All spare heaters are indoors as the Aga is struggling to heat the whole house! It's doing a grand job of keeping the worst of the chill off though. 

Chris has finally started his treatment for his lung condition. Hurray! One small step in a year's worth of pills to come. I really hope it gives him some relief and restores his stamina and overall quality of life considerably. Keeping everything going here is becoming quite hard for us, despite various improvements, and makes me realise why older people choose places with small gardens!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.