Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Mistle Thrush #76

Now I remember why I don’t twitch birds very often. I spent over 3 hours this morning in Warrington waiting for the waxwings to appear that have been there for the past 2 days. They never arrived :(
It was -5 degrees on the way there and only got up to -1 degree by the time I left at midday despite some sunny periods. There were plenty of photographers and birders to chat to, all bemoaning the fact that they were unavailable until the weekend and then the waxwings don’t show! That’s birding folks!!! 
There were plenty of berries left for them that were very occasionally visited by blackbirds, starlings and the odd Mistle thrush so at least I managed some sort of a blip, although not the one one I was hoping for. 
I was going to go out later in the day to try for a sunset, but it has really clouded over and has begun to snow, so I’m staying firmly indoors now :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.