Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

MONEYBOX

I had no idea what to blip for Silly Saturday so as a last resort here are some photos of my moneybox.  Its made of pottery and is by John Beswick. It is called " Saving For A Rainy Day".  Its round and the top is shaped like a red umbrella and there are different figures all round the sides sheltering under the umbrella. Love looking at all the different expressions on the faces.  They are better in real life as it was difficult to photograph with it being round.  Thanks to davidc for hosting Silly Saturday today in memory of Admirer.

We had more snow through the night and as the temp has been freezing cold all day there has been no thawing.  As the buses are back to " normal " I decided to use them to get to the Co-op and back as I knew the pavements would be slippy.  I checked the app and got to my stop in good time for the bus.  It never came.  Had to wait 25 mins for the next one.

Did my shopping in the Co-op keeping my eye on my watch as I knew what time a bus home was due.  Got to the stop.  According to the app - bus due in 7 mins.  Didn't come.  Next one on the app was in 14 mins.... didn't come.  Next one due in 48 mins.  Seems like the " normal " bus service is the same unreliable one we had before the strike. I didn't fancy waiting 48 mins  in the cold.for a  bus that might not even turn up at all - so I set off to walk home. Something I didn't really want to do.  I did manage  OK though as there are a lot of grassy area on my route home so where I could  I walked on the grass in the deep snow and when I had to use the icy pavements I was very cautious.  Not a pleasant walk home as it was cold and I had my shopping trolley which wasn't easy to  drag through the snow on the grass. 

Because of the bus problems this afternoon I was doubly glad I wasn't going to the football match this evening.  I would have been freezing cold and worried about whether I would be able to get home OK.  Instead I was warm at home and able to watch on my PC.

Newcastle were playing Manchester United.  I must say Newcastle were excellent.  They really played well as a team.  So many good performances.  The final score was Newcastle 1 Man Utd 0. Only negative from tonight is that our goalie Nick Pope had to go off injured.  Possibly its a dislocated shoulder.  Another injury to add to the long list.  Whilst watching the match  I was able to see a tiny Neil sitting in my seat ( the camera never did a close up )  and we messaged each other now and again.  He had a great time.  Although he doesn't like my seat.  He prefers to sit higher up so he can get a better over- view of the game. 

After the match I caught up with Strictly.  Such a shame Nigel is injured and has had to pull out of the show.

Steps today 6,334

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.