KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Busy Day!

After the excitement of the new car yesterday, I'd forgotten to share that my granddaughter Odette was having a "sleepover" last night. Always such a joy, and last night was no exception. It was a cold and rainy evening and when I asked her what she wanted for dinner, without hesitation she said "Pizza from the club!". What she meant was the amazing wood-fired pizza that the chef at my golf club makes. I told her we'd have to drive the new car instead of taking the golf cart..."why" she asked? Well, it's dark, rainy and cold and my cart doesn't have headlights (or heat for that matter).

So we had a lovely pizza and salad and watched kid movies and generally had a grand time. It absolutely poured last night, waking us both up several times. The last time, at about 5:45, she came into my room and we gave up trying to sleep. So we started our day with cups of tea and hot chocolate in front of the fire. Her dad and brother came over for lunch and we watched a coyote on the golf course who seemed to be following one of the groups of guys playing today (Saturday is men's club). It was rather odd, but it didn't seem threatening. 

This afternoon the rain abated and I finished up my Christmas lights and managed to program the smart plugs with Alexa and they did turn on at the right time tonight. Then I re-planted my containers with winter foliage/flowers but by the time I was done is was too dark to get a good shot. This is the only photo that wasn't blurry! A lovely ornamental kale. 

Looks like we've got a rainy day tomorrow, but I'm going to Palm Springs on Monday to get some SUN!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.