Marionb

By Marionb

'Tis the Season...

Whew! A busy day - and I don't have those very often...so today was quite satisfying...and exhausting...

I finished decorating the tree and Maggie approves...She particularly likes the tree skirt and has claimed it as her new napping spot. For an indoor cat, the novelty of being able to sleep under a tree must be most satisfying for her! 

I do like my tree..but I have decorated it the same way for many years now, and I think it is time for a change...in many ways...one of which is to simplify...Methinks I have internalized a lot of gentle hints from knottman2..(who has been a wise mentor for me whether he knows it or not) that Less is More....I have also noticed this year that a lot of my friends and relatives have already "simplified" the season and do not put up a tree at all..I cannot imagine going that far, but I do think a less extravagant approach would be better. 

Then to the garden to finish up the winter urns now that the weather has warmed up enough to thaw the soil. I really didn't have enough greenery left for the job but found some dried sedum and hydrangea flowers in the garden to fill in. Perhaps I should think "urns" when adding new plants to the garden next year... plants I can harvest for this purpose! It would be ever so wonderful to have holly bushes..but I don't think that is really an option....

Then.. off to pick-up my first gift of the season - home-made cookies baked by my friend S (who is my neighbour E's sister - from whom I acquired and then blipped two sets of china!) S loves to bake and her gift of home-made treats has become a Christmas tradition..Return the tin and she will refill it next year! Love it...

Also, S has an amazingly beautiful cat called Wriggler - a rescue cat she adopted when he was 10..he is now 16 and as active and curious as a much younger cat...He looks grumpy, but he is not..He is adorable...and merits a blip photo.( in extra collage)

A rainy day again tomorrow, but to keep up the Christmas spirit, the plan is to go to a Christmas market...and NOT buy anything. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.