Look Out

By chrisf

Boom !

After breakfast, and doing what needed doing first thing, I had an hour out on a really bleak day, ameliorated by the lightest of snowfalls overnight to give everywhere a slightly more picturesque look. My destination was Sandy Lane farm, I knew from a brief visit last year to look at the pumpkin fields that there is a great side on view of Fiddlers Ferry power station from there.

Today is the day when four of the big cooling towers were due to be demolished in one very short, very large explosion. The only information was that it would be between 8am and 12 noon - it all depended on the conditions being right. No matter, I would get either my last pic of the complete power station, or my first of the remaining four towers still standing on their own. As I drove down Sandy Lane I heard a very short deep rumble, so I guessed it would be the latter.

But as I turned a corner It was apparent that lots of other people had had the same idea. All without seeing anything. Thick fog had descended on the Mersey and adjacent power station - the whole thing was enveloped in Nature’s invisibility cloak. It was impossible to park and the road was blocked by standing traffic, so I had to reverse a long way (I am appreciating park assist) and took this pic in a nearby location just for the record. The four remaining cooling towers are there somewhere.

Advent Sunday, so listening to the service from St John’s college whilst writing this. Some great choral pieces.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.