Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

FIRST SUNDAY OF ADVENT

It’s getting colder, animals are hibernating - sometimes I wish I could too - and the days are getting shorter - but for Christians around the world, this is the season of Advent - a time of waiting and hoping.  I know that those who aren’t Christians also look forward to Christmas and all it means, both getting together with family and friends and looking forward with hope - so Happy Advent to all those reading this.

We had a great service at Church this morning and the first Advent candle of hope was lit by one of the Church families, followed by readings and a prayer.  There were some great worship songs, possibly some of them new and then we had an excellent sermon, which reminded us that all the darkness in the world cannot extinguish a single candle and that miracles are possible and some are going to happen. 

After the service, I took a photograph of the Advent wreath and several of the banners that have now been put up for the season, two of which are here in my collage.  Several people were wearing Christmas jumpers, and I wanted to get a shot of this one, worn by one of our youngsters.  I did have rather a job to do this - he wasn’t very keen - but eventually I got a shot - but for obvious reasons, am not showing his face.  

“Hope is being able to see 
     that there is light
          despite all of the darkness.”
Desmond Tutu

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.