If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Snow on Hogweed.

We woke to the first snow of the winter, well the first in the garden, all 3cm of it.  I have lived in the Penrith area for 55 years.  When I first arrived I was in digs, the lads in the digs told me there would be snow on the fells in the first week of November and it would be there until May.  Sure enough in the first week in November there it was.  In May I was out on the school field running house sports heats in my shirt sleeves and there were patches of snow on the Pennines.

Move on 14 plus years and photos of Rachel's birthday parties in early January there would be snow in the garden.  By the time she was 9 or 10 no snow and not really any since.  Now the occasional day with a couple of cm of snow is all we can expect.  Move back a few years until before the kids were born and we had 18" in one day, in April.

Anybody who doesn't believe in climate change either hasn't lived long or isn't very observant in my opinion

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.