loisbiz

By loisbiz

Silly Saturday

Feet up, bare feet, too warm. I kicked the down throw off and turned off the fire. It was rainy on and off and cloudy, but not too cold today. Perhaps this is as silly as I get for Silly Saturday.

Ellie went with her grandpa to a friend's house and I took her mommy shopping. She had one meltdown as I attempted to talk to her about the realities of owning a car. Her ride to work may be quitting soon and she is anxious to buy a car. She is focused on: "it is only $2000 down and Dad said he would pay half of that"...she is looking at CarMax and she thinks she can get anything with a $300 a month payment...but I reminded her she has to pay insurance, fuel, and maintenance...and her credit is really bad so the interest will be high. So far she has worked for 2 months and she had $30.00 money saved. It is a rude awakening when she realizes that spending "only" $5 or $10 here and $20 there adds up. She bought Air Pods yesterday for "only" $90 and she wanted to buy new sheets and a comforter because she doesn't love what her parents have given her for her bed. I suggested she use what she has until she has saved up for something new, but she said, "I need to be me". By the time we got back home, she was talking more reasonably. She was very happy that her Christmas shopping was done and only spent $28 for her mom, dad, & Ellie. I helped her to find reasonable things they would like. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.