tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Finally...

"Take medlers that are rotten, strain them, and set them on a chafing-dish of coals, season them with sugar, cinamon, and ginger, put some yolks of eggs to them, let it boil a little, and lay it in a cut tart ; being baked, scrape on sugar."

I made a medlar tart! 
I've never come by enough medlars before (and the ones I blipped in October were certainly insufficient) but son and partner brought some from the allotments in Manchester that were much plumper.


I more or less followed the recipe above by Robert May, in  The Accomplisht Cook: Or, the Art and Mystery of Cookery (1665), now helpfully available on Ye Internette. With the addition of flaked almonds on top.

I can't say the tart was to die for but a very satisfying minor ambition to achieve at least.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.