Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

OUR WEEKLY VISIT TO DEBRA

We are trying to declutter, as is our lovely neighbour, Lynn, so she is always giving us stuff to take up to DEBRA, our favourite charity shop.  She came over with a big bag of varied bits and bobs last night, so as Mr. HCB didn’t go out walking today because it was raining.  He and his friend are fair-weather walkers, not like our dear Blip friend, Yeeeeed who goes out in all winds and weathers - so he suggested we go out for a coffee and take the stuff into DEBRA beforehand, so off we went.  

Sarah, the Manager and all the staff always seem pleased to see us and even more when we have lots of decent stuff to give them and today was no exception - it seems to be on a weekly basis at the moment! 

The three penguins at the bottom right of my collage were in the bag from Lynn, so I took the opportunity to take a shot before they went back into the bag.  The other shots were taken at the shop and one of the helpers in there this morning said that she had made the fireplace so I was pleased I had it in the shot.  Their window displays are always excellent, so I was pleased that she was there and I could show her the collage, after we had had our coffee at Jack’s.  They were all discussing where the penguins and polar bears would go in their Christmas display, so it’s good to know that all Lynn’s stuff will be used.

In fact, I came away with a form to fill in to become a volunteer and perhaps in the New Year, when things have settled down with my back, I will be able to think about helping out.  Sarah did say that there were plenty of things that needed doing that could be done sitting down, so perhaps 2024 will be the year that I can give back for all the kindness shown to me since my back surgery.  

If you want to know more about DEBRA, their website is Debra.org.uk - and you may remember, I read a book written by Wendy, whose daughter had the rare and extremely painful, genetic blistering skin condition, Epidermolysis Bullosa, also known as “Butterfly Skin”.    You can find her book HERE on Amazon - a wonderful and moving read, which had me in tears more than once.  

Whilst we were in Old Town, I did pop into Leightons, our lovely Opticians, and got some good advice from Kate, the Manager - ably assisted in the background by Lauren, Seb and another Wendy - it's always good to see them too.  Unfortunately, I have to go out again soon, but I’m not grumbling because I have managed to get a face-to-face appointment with my GP to try and sort out my sore eyes - perhaps I’m doing too much reading and not enough housework!!  Ha ha ha ha!  

Stay safe, warm and cosy!  M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.