curns' corner

By curns

Table

Yesterday, we went to the Christmas Shop in Kingston and I’d seen a set of LED tree lights and now wish I had bought them.  We have a couple of sets of traditional tree lights but we have to have several sets to cover the tree and I’d had this idea to just get one set. So, today I went into Robert Dyas in Wimbledon and bought a new set of tree lights.  By the end of the day we had them on the tree and I think they look great. I am a big fan of multi-coloured trees. PY is not but, for some reason, I am getting my choice this year.  We also took another look at the ice rink in Centre Court Shopping Centre (or Wimbledon Quarter as I have to remember to all it).  The ice rink was much busier than last time but the remainder of the Christmas fair looked deserted. I am not sure about an indoor ice rink crammed between two escalators but people looked like they were having fun.

I bought us coffees from Caffè Nero but it had started raining, so we drank them on the train. We’d just missed a train so there was 15 minutes to wait in the station.  PY thought we should have checked from outside the station and got the bus but we were committed and so waited.  When we got home I tried to add the indoor window lights but I felt what I’d done wasn’t right so ended up re-doing them later in the day. Much happier now and they look much neater.

About 3pm we walked to a friend's house for Sunday lunch. They’d done a lovely lamb dish and a dessert cake. They's also done this lovely table setting which I thought was amazing. It’s always fun to hear what people are planing for Christmas - there seem to be a number of us staying home this year in one way or another.  They brought out the port at the end of the dinner and I had a glass or two too many but, not so many, that I couldn’t finish decorating the tree when we got home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.