JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Muddy boots

The snow had almost all melted by mid-morning, replaced by steady rainfall for much of the day. I went for a quick walk before lunch, when the rain eased to drizzle for a while. Everything was soggy, especially the remains of the fallen leaves. I had my little camera in my pocket, and tried to photograph reflections in puddles, with limited success. The Elham illuminations, which consist of white or colourless fairy lights on little trees attached to the upper storey of many of the houses along the roads through the village, shone bright and cheerful in the low light, but the photos were a mess of camera shake. My boots though, bought almost a year ago to support my 2023 resolution, keep my feet dry and are still doing well, as are my (almost) daily walks.

Much of the rest of the day was again spent with J and the film festival. She didn't have anything to enter this year but enjoyed a wide range of animations, documentaries, drama, dance and artist films made by disabled filmmakers and/or on disability related themes, and we joined two live sessions on Zoom as well as watching a lot of the playlists. Film festivals moved online in 2020, and it's good (especially for us) that quite a lot of them have retained some level of online access even after returning to in person events.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.