SoozaDay

By soozaday

Sunset, Broccoli

The first broccoli of the season. The plant itself is nearly three feet tall—that’s a lot of stalk, so I hope there are lots of side shoots to come. Started the day with a walk by the ocean, then made a batch of Feijoa (Pineapple Guava) jam or, more correctly, marmalade: lemon, orange, ginger, cardamom, vanilla bean and a hint of jalapeño. I did cook it a tad too long so it’s stiffer than I’d like, but there you go. We have tons of Feijoa right now, but a batch of jam only uses 6 cups of fruit!  We went on to buy our Christmas tree in the afternoon, and are waiting for my son to come and get it in the house This year is the first time I’ve felt that I can’t get down into the tight space where the ornaments are stored. Used to be I was quite good at squeezing in there and heaving the boxes around, but I’m not sure I could get out without a crane, so I’m waiting on him for that job too. Don’t like the feeling of needing help, but Im grateful I have such a willing and able helper. He’s stuck in traffic on the way home from work, so it looks like a long night. 

Ah, but he was just here, and in less than 15 minutes got the tree straight in the stand, brought it inside the living room, carried down the heavy boxes of lights, and vanished into the night, eager to get home and take a shower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.