SoozaDay

By soozaday

Holiday Festivities

The advantage of having the UCSC Retirees Holiday Party at the Marine Lab is that we got to tour the aquarium after lunch. I stared at this eel for a long time before I realized that it was real—doesn’t that eye look metallic, like a rivet? And then it moved, ever so slightly. I didn’t exactly jump, but I was startled, and very glad to be on my side of the glass. 
At the party I was pleasantly surprised to see people that I worked with in the 70s and 80s. Anyone want to figure out how long ago that was? Stories were told, good wishes exchanged. Our  table won the 15 question trivia contest and got Retiree themed mugs and a water bottle for prizes. The UCSC mascot is a banana slug, and the retiree logo features a relaxed Silver Slug dressed for an adventure. Some of the questions were campus related, and too esoteric to list. Here are some of the more universal answers: the Isley Brothers, Robert Plant, Fort Knox. Your challenge is to come up with the questions…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.