Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Garden Jay

A cold a frosty start to the day. I defrosted the bird bath and threw a handful of peanuts out on the lawn as I’d seen one of our Garden Jays in the tree yesterday. We’ve not been putting out “loose” bird food for a few weeks as the squirrels and pigeons just hoover it up in no time.  It seems to have worked as we don’t see either species half as much as we used to do. 

Within about 2 minutes of my actions both Jays were on the lawn scoffing the peanuts - I think they must have been watching me. I hadn’t even taken my coat off or managed to get my camera out!  Luckily they hung around for a few minutes in the tree and I lay on the floor in the living room waiting for them to come back down onto the grass. Much more comfortable than being outside in the freezing temperature, but not that comfortable :) 
It’s not that sharp as it was through the window and I’ve still not got my computer back but it’s good enough for today’s blip. 
I’m off to start the Christmas baking - it’s shortbread today. 

I’ll try and catch up with journals later today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.