If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Murmuration

I don't know whether to call it a blip meet or a family get together, Clickychick, Kanyl and myself headed over to Workington to meet Derwent Lass and R for lunch.  Our chosen venue was Dunmail Park because of its proximity to Siddick Pond a traditional Starling roost.  We talked until R said "its 3:0 O'clock we don't want to miss them.

The last murmuration I saw at Siddick pond was spectacular but that was before I was blipping in fact before CC was blipping.  Sadly this one was not spectacular.  All murmurations I have seen before have been groups of birds joining the mass until it is huge then as if on a signal drop into roost  These had totally different behaviour, groups small and large and almost instantly dropped to roost in the reeds.

The blip is one of the larger groups, the extras are a group of swans coming in to roost and the same with a group of Greylag geese.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.