If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Flying Blue Tit ( Cyanistes caeruleus )

I have been trying on and off for a while to get shots of flying birds.  This is easiest when there are a lot of Greenfinches around as they are cantankerous with one another, hovering by the feeder trying to chase others away, or being chased away.

Currently, we are only getting a Greenfinch now and then so no bickering.  The Tits are harder as they fly in grab food and fly away and you have no warning.  Having spent a while waiting and trying then failing I thought I would take a shot of one perched.  THe settings were still for catching the action so high speed and burst mode.  As I tried to take the shot the bird flew fortunately I kept the button down.  The result a reasonable shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.