A day in the life

By Shelling

Thugs

My internet is back, it's been a trial for two days and I've discovered I'm pretty addicted. Also, I needed to learn how to use my new tv, that didn't work without internet either, what is there left to do? 

There are gangs of magpies and jackdaws around my birdfeeder fighting over the precious seedballs. It's difficult for them to balance on the moving ring, especially when there are several of them. So far I've noticed the magpies are not as good as the jackdaws to actually sit and eat, the magpies will rather fly towards the ring and try to chisel a piece of ball out and then eat it on the ground. All little birds have to wait until the gang of thugs leaves the scene before they get to pick on the sad remains of the seedballs. The woodpecker hasn't yet been here, he can really finish the food quickly and scatter the pieces on the ground.

I was in town today, watching a movie, a documentary of sorts about one of our loved troubadours from the sixties and seventies, who died far to early in cancer, Cornelis Wreeswijk, originally from the Netherlands. I liked it. It was honest and sad and felt realistic, I liked it very much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.