Kendall is here

By kendallishere

The altar and the screen

Memorial to those who have died in Gaza. It takes an hour for the screen to roll through all the names of the known dead. I left a card as an offering from two grandmothers. 

Here is another statement by people of vision (excerpt below). I know I post too many a great many links, but it's how I can remember where I read whatever it is that I read, because I imagine I will want to go back to it.

We believe all people are of equal dignity and worth, and that all people belong. This is what our future demands. Calls or demands for one people to leave or be expelled from an area they inhabit are utterly incompatible with the ideal of belonging.  


Instead of allowing powerful forces and flattening narratives to pit us against each other, now more than ever, we, the people across the globe and from every community who stand on the side of humanity, who know that Palestinian and Israeli and all life is equally precious, who oppose all forms of supremacy and hierarchy of life, must turn towards each other, if we are to have a future. 


Memorial created by Middle Eastern, North African, and South Asian Students (MENASA) at Portland State University.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.