Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Subconscious Art? Or an Advent Calendar Opening?

Most of what I had scheduled for today cancelled, so by 4pm dusk was falling and I didn’t have a blip.  Fortunately Tivoli has started a new project for those who celebrate: “Advent Calendar” views in honor of Arachne, whose photographs of geometries of line, depth, and light bedeck her journals. I am tickled by Tivoli’s idea, and I admire Sara Evans’ “human element” and SpotsOfTime’s perfectly bricked-up doorway. What, I wondered, does Portland have to offer? Not Portland Stone, which is a product of the UK. Not Portland Cement, most of which is made in Michigan. 

I went out for a walk, and I found it! “Graffiti Abatement” provides work for several local government agencies and numerous local businesses hiring over 200 people. At least one non-profit organization exists to champion graffiti as a tourist attraction, and they have a website with a brilliantly-constructed embedded video (14 minutes) praising the “Subconscious Art of Graffiti Removal." It wasn't till I watched it more than half the way through that I realized it was a mockery. No wonder it won awards.

Here’s an example of the kind of work they’re talking about in that video. What do you think? Art? NotArt?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.