Bright and Beautiful

By ThingsBeautiful

Pirates of Penzance

As its yet another dire, dark, wet day I thought I could share the programme from last night's show (I hope this is OK to blip) :)

(I last knew anything about the story of Pirates of Penzance when I was a child.  Our family had a lot of old 78' records, and there was a whole set of these which we played on a wind up gramaphone :))

At the beginning of the performance an announcement was made that one of the actors (my friend H) was playing a different part!  (I didn't catch the announcement, but my friend told me).

He was originally going to be the 'Sergent of the Sergents' but he changed to the Major General (one of the major parts in the whole thing).  

He had to learn the part yesterday in one day, before last nights (first night) performance!!!  Someone went round to play the piano so he could learn the songs as well.  

We think he did extremely well considering he hadn't had the weeks and weeks of practice that the original person had :)  

There are further performances tonight and tomorrow.  On Saturday there is a matinee performance as well.  We don't know if the other person will be back....

The Woodley Light Operatic Society is the same group that were in 'Anything Goes' at Henley in the summer.  I noted the next performance is 'The Little Shop of Horrors' about which I know nothing!

In other news - what classic Christmas films do you watch?  I'm not normally bothered with Christmas, but I thought I would do something different this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.