Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Speed

You can't visit York without going to the Railway Museum,  Well, I can't anyway.  W wasn't bothered to go again so we split up for the morning and she went into town to do some more shopping.

The museum is only partly open at the moment while they carry out some major renovation and improvement work which will take around two years to complete.  However, the Main Hall is still open with plenty to see.  I've concentrated on the 'glamour' engines; from top, LNER No. 4468 'Mallard' which still holds the world speed record for a steam engine, set on 3rd July 1938 when it reached 126mph.  Next is the LMS streamliner, No 6229 'Duchess of Hamilton', which is arguably a better looking engine. Finally, D9002 'The Kings Own Yorkshire Light Infantry', one of the 'Deltics' built in 1961 for the East Coast Main Line and, to my mind, the only diesel worth getting excited about.

I didn't bother with the Flying Scotsman VR Experience this time but may do in the future.  Flying Scotsman itself, however, was just outside the Main Hall in full steam and with the safety valves blowing off.  However, it wasn't on official display and I've added an extra of the only view of it I could get!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.