What I've Done

By JohnGravett

On the way up Skiddaw

After dropping Deb off at work, I drove to the foot of the Latrigg road and walked up (the road was closed) to the top. My original intention was to walk along the path along the base of Lonscale Fell, but the snow line was halfway up Jenkin Hill. I thought I might get as high as the fence (photo), so set off - fortunately I did have my spikes with me. 

When I reached the fence I thought "Lesser Man (visible in the pic) isn't that far"! So I walked to that, from there it didn't seem so far to Little Man, and once on Little Man it was only about 3/4 mile to the summit of Skiddaw - so I carried on.

Fabulous views, great snow textures and a wonderful day, even if my intention was for a short morning walk. I was a bit hungry by the time I got home at 2.45.

In the evening I rehearsed (drums) with the band "between the waves" that I photographed back in July. As their drummer is in Australia for a few weeks. A real fun evening, but it all made for a very tiring day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.