This is the day

By wrencottage

2,000 Years in the Making

This poster outside our church was advertising this year’s Christmas production. As you can see from the fact that there are four performances, these productions are always very popular with local families, many of whom don’t often come to church, so that’s great. 

After I’d dropped in another supply of Christmas cards to the Atrium I went home to get our house decorated for Christmas. We have our eldest granddaughter coming on Saturday for the weekend for an early Christmas visit with our eldest son before she flies off to Canada for the Christmas holidays with her Mum, so I wanted to make the house look festive for her. 

Now that we’re past the days of unreliable fairy lights which always seemed to blow just at the wrong moment, leaving the tree in darkness, I wasn’t expecting to have a problem with our LED fairy lights this year because they’ve always worked first time up until now. However, I hadn’t allowed for the fact that the transformer into which the lights plug is actually the weakest link in the chain. Of the five transformers that I use, two of them had developed broken connectors so, when I plugged the lights into the transformer, nothing happened. I managed to coax one back into action by straightening the connector with a fine screwdriver, plugging in the lights and then taping the lead and the transformer together to ensure a good connection but the other one was beyond my capability to repair.

I have just ordered two replacement transformers, but they won’t come until after our weekend visitors have left, so although our two Christmas trees will be lit, the garland which is twisted around the banisters up the stairs will have to be without its pretty fairy lights for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.