CBLinks

By gallusboy

Pepperkakebyen

“Bergen’s  Gingerbread Town (Pepperkakebyen) is the world’s largest town of its kind.  In November, many of Bergen’s citizens make their own contributions to this tasteful, magical town. Houses, churches, castles are some of the edible artwork you can find and the bakers’ creativity is amazing. It all adds up to fairytale town among mountains, fjords, snow and atmospheric light.”

That’s how the promoter describes it and in many ways it is true.  I found the ultraviolet lighting of the setting was too dark and I was peering at everything trying to make out the detail on the gingerbreads.  

Also it was, for me, very challenging to photograph.  Maybe I should have put the camera in my pocket and just enjoyed the ambience.  

Later I footered and faffed around editing the best (?) of the photos I took and have posted some in the extras if you’d, like to see them.

Other views are of our wanderings through two of the city’s districts, Sandviken and Bergenhus.

Enjoyed a coffee break at Godt Brøt sampling the traditional Christmas cinnamon bun which is called a Skillingsboller!  They were very sweet and sticky and then  later on gløggs proved to be excellent winter warmers again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.