Acts of deliberate notice

By Yaviere

A leaf in winter

D and I are both full of cold today and feeling a bit rubbish. But the sun came out, and we took a lovely little walk on my lunch break up to see the cows. 

It's hard to get enough daylight in winter and that brief touch of it on my skin was enough to make me crave more. I finish work early on Fridays so decided to head out to my favourite local café, only 10 mins walk from my flat, and sat out in the dying light with my cup of tea and cherry bakewell tart, reading Italo Calvino's "If on a winter's night a traveller".

Reading outside is the most relaxing thing for me, and words can't express how much I needed that time in the sunlight, with a book, being peaceful on my own. Came home to do some yoga, and now we plan to spend the evening catching up on the Swedish children's television advent calendar, and hopefully lots of knitting for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.