Winsford

By Winsford

Seeing red

I contemplated staying in bed and finishing my book the morning ( Past Lying by Val McDermid which I'm really enjoying) but "persuaded" myself to get up and go down for a swim.

I'm glad I did - not only did I enjoy the swim and post-swim coffee but I spotted a red squirrel on the way town  - and even managed to take a picture of it. Sighting has been reported.

This afternoon we went to a concert in the great hall of Blair Castle with V&A. The concert was to commerate the 100th anniversary of Duchess Kitty being elected as Scitlands first woman MP.

She was also an accomplished musician and the concert featured a mix of classical & traditional music including tunes she had composed.  The Duchess Kitty's own piano was also used for the evening and there was a portrait of her hanging in the hall.

A piper also played a  march composed for the wedding of her sister-in-law, Lady Dorothea, one of the three sisters I gave a talk about earlier in the year. It was a treat to hear in the hall where her wedding was celebrated. 

We then had a very tasty bar supper in the Atholl Arms. A most enjoyable start to the weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.